Welcome to the
Division of Orthopaedics

Orthopaedics at the U of T has a long tradition of developing innovative treatment approaches, performing research of the highest quality, developing new education programs, and providing clinical care of the highest quality possible. We are leaders in the field, and our faculty members play leadership roles nationally, and internationally. Read more »

Division Chairs for Orthopaedics - University of Toronto Orthopaedic Chairs 1976 - Today.
From left to right - Ben Alman (2006-Today), James Waddell (1996-2006), Robert Salter (1976-1986), Allan Gross (1986-1996).

Orthopaedic Council Committee

The Orthopaedic Council consists of the chair of orthopaedics; the heads of orthopaedics at our major teaching hospitals; the heads of our research committee; our program director and associate program director; the head of undergraduate education; and our chief resident. The group meets six times per year and functions to make decisions on higher-level orthopaedic activities that involve the University, provide advice to the chair, and to coordinate university wide endeavors.