Welcome to the
Division of Orthopaedics

Orthopaedics at the U of T has a long tradition of developing innovative treatment approaches, performing research of the highest quality, developing new education programs, and providing clinical care of the highest quality possible. We are leaders in the field, and our faculty members play leadership roles nationally, and internationally. Read more »

Division Chairs for Orthopaedics - University of Toronto Orthopaedic Chairs 1976 - Today.
From left to right - Ben Alman (2006-Today), James Waddell (1996-2006), Robert Salter (1976-1986), Allan Gross (1986-1996).


The University of Toronto established the first formal training programme in Orthopaedic Surgery. Under the leadership of R.I. Harris and F.P. Dewar the programme (which remained under the umbrella of the Department of Surgery, University of Toronto) expanded quickly and eventually encompassed seven teaching hospitals. (The Hospital for Sick Children, Mt. Sinai Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital, Toronto Hospital, Toronto East General Hospital, Sunnybrook Health Science Centre, Wellesley Hospital). The University of Toronto Orthopaedic Division, with a large and talented faculty, became world renowned because of this training programme and because of the pioneering advances made in the specialty. Orthopaedic surgeons from across the world are frequent visitors to Toronto both to learn and to teach.